Friday, August 7, 2020

What's On Top of the Current Top 20?

BLACKPINK Tops the Chart

For only the second time in the history of doing this chart thing, a K-Pop song tops my Current Top 20. BLACKPINK is one of the hottest K-Pop groups from South Korea. They are a quartet of young ladies with a lot of style, sass and moves. They can also sing too.

"How You Like  That" is a very catchy song with an electro pop/dance beat. The lyrics are in broken English and Korean. Makes for an interesting mix.

What stands out the most is the very stylish music video. BLACKPINK is all about style, attitude and sass. The video brings this out in a pleasantly tasteful way, yet still makes any guy yearn to be in the presence of these women.

The music video has set some new world records for 2020:

  • Most viewed YouTube video in 24 hours
  • Most viewed YouTube music video in 24 hours
  • Most viewed YouTube music video in 24 hours by a K-pop group
  • Most viewers for the premiere of a video on YouTube
  • Most viewers for the premiere of a music video on YouTube

"How You Like That" is BLACKPINK's first single from the group's forthcoming debut album BLACKPINK: The Album set for release on October 2.

"How You Like That" has gone to #1 on the charts in Malaysia, Singapore, three charts in South Korea (Goon, Goon Albums, K-Pop Hot 100) and the U.S. World Digital Song Sales (Billboard). It has been a top 20 pop hit in Japan, Canada, Australia, Hungary and New Zealand. It peaked at #33 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 chart last month.


Chiquis and Becky G's remake of "Jolene" got the blessing from songwriter and original performer Dolly Parton to do this song as a new Spanish language hit. It's a great cover with a good video. The record makes it to #2 this week.

Taylor Swift surprised her fans two weeks ago when she unexpectedly released a new album. Her latest album is called Folklore, and is a departure from the recent style of her pop albums of recent years. The first single "Cardigan" with its compelling video, is at #3 this week after making its chart debut at #8 last week. Could be a big hit for Swfit.

Eighty year old Tina Turner is back on the charts with a remix of her 1984 #1 hit "What's Love Got to Do With It" by Norwegian DJ and record producer Kygo. The song is a top 10 hit on the U.S. dance chart and is bubbling under the Billboard Hot 100. On the Current Top 20 it's at #10 this week up from last week's debut of #19.

Here is this week's Current Top 20 chart which can also be checked out weekly at this page and this link. The link to the permanent chart is at this page: M4B Charts Central Mel's Current Top 20

VIDEOS: Chiquis, Taylor Swift & Tina Turner w/ Kygo

Friday, July 31, 2020

Diana Ross & The Supremes

Flashback Friday

Every week, Scrivener on his Facebook page asks us to rate our favorite songs by different rock and pop artists. I answer those every week and decided to share and preserve these answers on my blog. So first up, we have Diana Ross with and without her group The Supremes. Here goes:

TOP 5 + 5 by Diana Ross

Diana Ross & The Supremes 1960s

1. Stop in the Name of Love
2. Reflections
3. Love Child
4. You Can't Hurry Love
5. Someday We'll Be Together
6. I Hear a Symphony
7. Baby Love
8. You Keep Me Hanging On
9. The Happening
10. My World is Empty Without You

Diana Ross 1970 onward

1. Upside Down
2. Touch Me in the Morning
3. Ain't No Mountain High Enough
4. Theme From Mahogony
5. Love Hangover

Worst - Endless Love with Lionel Richie - too sappy.

So what do you think. Leave me your list of a comment about your favorite and least favorite Diana Ross song.

Monday, July 13, 2020

Jolene and Her Covers


In 1973 Dolly Parton released her big country hit that put her on the map. "Jolene" was a hit country single that made it to #1 on the Billboard Country chart and #1 in Canada. It also charted on the Billboard Hot 100 peaking at #60 and #44 on the Adult Contemporary Music chart. Since then, it has become her signature song and has been covered several times over many years by many other artists. The linked audio file above (from YouTube) is the original track that became the hit in early 1974.

In recent years the following covers appeared:

Dolly Parton & Pentatonix (2016) - This version made it to #18 on the Billboard Country Chart.

This version came out in 2012 by Miley Cyrus as part of the Backyard Sessions video album on YouTube. I like this one.

Alternative rock duo The White Stripes recorded this version which charted well in Europe, 2004 & 2005.

A new version was released earlier this summer by Chiquis with Becky G. This version has started its chart climb on Mel's Current Top 20.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Classic Island Hits Are Back

Radio M.I.U. (Mel's Internet Universe) is back with the recent re-opening of the streaming website. Once again you can stream 17 music genre playlists for free on the Radio M.I.U. portion of

Among the 17 channel playlists at Radio M.I.U. are the following:
  • Classic Island Radio Hits
  • Top Star Hits of 1970
  • Top Star Hits of 1971
  • Top Star Hits of 1972
  • Disco Trekkin'
  • You Can Dance
  • Classic Rock Tracks
  • Rock as You Remember It
  • Rock of the 80s Again
  • Super Golden Oldies
  • Super Golden Oldies 2
  • Ten From the 1990s
  • Sonic Alternatives 1
  • Sonic Alternatives 2
  • Uncle Mel's Classic Country Tracks
  • Uncle Mel's Popular Standards
The Classic Island Radio Hits list has been updated.

Track List

If you listened to Top 40 radio on 1380 KPOI, KKUA 69 or KORL 65 in the late 1960s and early 1970s you probably heard some if not all of these songs. Here they are once again, top 40 hits with an island flair!

1. Cheryl Moana Marie by John Rowles
2. Morning of Our Lives by The Arkade
3. If That's the Way That You Want It by Diamond Head
4. You And Me by Cecilio & Kapono
5. Nightbird by Kalapana
6. E Lei Ka Lei Lei (Beach Party Song) by Don Ho
7. My Little Japanese Boy by Linda Green & The Tempos
8. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying by Gerry & the Pacemakers
9. Forevermore by Tokyo Happy Coats
10. Love Can Make You Happy by Mercy
11. My Hawaii by The Rascals
12. Lahaina by Loggins & Messina
13. Summer Sun by Jamestown Massacre
14. Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep by Middle of the Road
15. Lean on Me by Bill Withers
16. Ebony Eyes by The Stylistics
17. New Years Eve -1976 by Summer
18. Frisco Bay by Society Of Seven
19. Hawaii Five-O by The Ventures
20. Remember Mary (vinyl version) by Sweet Marie

Streams for FREE.

Link to 8Tracks Blog Notice

Monday, June 29, 2020

Lady Gaga Knocking on the Door of #1


It looks like Lady Gaga with her accomplice Ariana Grandé is on the verge of claiming the #1 spot from The Rolling Stones. The duo's top hit "Rain on Me" moves up this week from #3 to #2 this week. Will it make it to #1 next week? We'll see.

Not too far away from the top position we find Benee at #5 moving up 7 points from #12 last week with the bubbly track "Supalonely". One point behind her is Saint Motel, who roars up the chart from last week's #19 debut to #6 this week with "A Good Song Never Dies". This is a good song, but will it ever die? We don't know.

The Rolling Stones meanwhile hold on to #1 for the 8th week with "Living in a Ghost Town", one of the best rock songs released in the last year or so. Rock music is a rarity on the charts these days.

Here now is the latest Current Top 20 list: